TapVoter vs OpaVote

OpaVote charges $10 for every 125 voters — or every 20 candidates — in an election, so cost rises in blocks as your ballot grows. TapVoter offers unlimited free elections with up to 10,000 voters and 30 languages.

OpaVote is well-regarded for its preference voting algorithms, particularly in academic circles. But for most organizations, TapVoter delivers the voting methods you need without the per-voter price tag.

Per-Voter Pricing Adds Up Fast

OpaVote's block pricing means a 500-voter election costs $40 — four blocks of 125 — before any candidate charge. Four of those a year is $160, and their free tier stops at 25 voters. With TapVoter every election is free for up to 10,000 voters.

Pricing Comparison

See how much you save with TapVoter vs OpaVote's per-voter pricing

Number of Voters
TapVoterFree Forever
OpaVote
25$0$0 (free tier)
50$0$10
100$0$10
500$0$40
1,000$0$80
5,000$0$400
10,000$0$800

Detailed Feature Comparison

Pricing

Feature
TapVoter
OpaVote
Free tier
Free for up to 10,000 voters, unlimited elections
LimitedFree up to 25 voters, 3 elections at a time, data kept 10 weeks
Cost for 50 voters
$0
$10 — one 125-voter block
Cost for 500 voters
$0
$40 — four 125-voter blocks
Cost for 1,000 voters
$0
$80 — eight 125-voter blocks
Data retention
90 days free, indefinite on Pro
3 months free, then $40 a year
Published pricing
Free
Published formula: $10 per 125 voters or 20 candidates

Voting Methods

Feature
TapVoter
OpaVote
Ranked choice (IRV)
Included free
States ranked choice and instant runoff
Single transferable vote
Not available
Eleven STV variants listed, including Meek, Scottish and ERS97
Condorcet methods
Not available
States Condorcet voting
Borda / Coombs / Bucklin
Not available
All three listed
Approval voting
Included free
Listed as a supported method
STAR voting
Included free
Not statedNot named in their public documentation

Ballot Secrecy & Platform

Feature
TapVoter
OpaVote
Anonymous / secret ballot
Optional anonymous ballot mode
Not statedNot stated in their public documentation
Public transparency log
Every ballot listed by receipt code
Not statedNot stated in their public documentation
Languages
30 languages, including RTL
Not statedNo language count published
Published accessibility conformance
Not statedResponsive design; no published conformance statement
Not statedNot stated in their public documentation
Published encryption spec
Not statedHTTPS/TLS
Not statedNot stated in their public documentation
API access
Not available
An API is documented in their help centre
Polls
Free tier plus Pro
Offers polls with unlimited voters at the same price

Key Differences at a Glance

$0

TapVoter cost for 1,000 voters

$80

OpaVote cost for 1,000 voters

30

Languages in TapVoter

1

Language in OpaVote (English)

5 min

TapVoter setup time

10-20 min

OpaVote setup time

Why Choose TapVoter?

  • 100% free forever - no per-voter charges
  • 30 languages built in for global elections
  • Intuitive interface - no technical knowledge needed
  • Up to 10,000 voters per election at no cost
  • Elections and polls on one platform
  • 5-minute setup with no credit card required

Consider OpaVote If You Need:

  • Condorcet voting methods (Schulze, Minimax)
  • Borda count for academic or research elections
  • Open-source counting algorithms you can audit
  • Free public elections (results visible to all)
  • Niche preference voting research applications

Plus: polls, quizzes, and surveys included

Alongside elections, TapVoter also includes free quick polls, auto-scored quizzes, and multi-question surveys with branching logic — all in the same platform. One Pro subscription ($4.99/mo or $49/yr) unlocks advanced features across all 4 products.

Ready to Run Free Elections?

Stop paying per voter. Join thousands of organizations using TapVoter for free, secure elections in 30 languages.

Back to All Comparisons

Sources and last check

OpaVote's pricing and features on this page were read directly from their own website on 24 July 2026. Where OpaVote does not publish something, this page says so rather than estimating. Prices change — check the source before making a purchasing decision.

  • Free tier: up to 3 simultaneous elections, 25 voters and 10 candidates each, data kept 10 weeks.
  • Paid: $10 for every 125 voters or 20 candidates. Data kept three months free, then $40 a year.
  • Polls have unlimited voters for the same price.
  • Bespoke plans for high-volume customers are unpublished — contact them.

TapVoter is not affiliated with or endorsed by OpaVote. Product names are the trademarks of their respective owners.

Common questions

How much does TapVoter cost compared to OpaVote?

TapVoter is free for elections: no per-voter charge, no per-election fee and no credit card. One election can have up to 10,000 voters, and there is no cap on how many elections you run. Optional Pro features for polls, quizzes and surveys are $4.99 a month or $49 a year.

Which voting methods does TapVoter support?

TapVoter supports five methods, all free: Single Choice, Ranked Choice (instant runoff), STAR, Approval and Multi-Winner. Results are tabulated automatically and can be exported to CSV.

Can voters cast anonymous ballots on TapVoter?

Yes. TapVoter issues each voter a unique 9-character key, so duplicate voting is prevented while an anonymous ballot mode keeps the vote itself unlinked to the voter. Every election also produces a public transparency log listing each ballot by receipt code, so a voter can confirm their own ballot was recorded and not voided.

See also

More on voting methods, alternative platforms, and use cases.

Use Case

Nonprofit Board Elections

Compliant board elections with audit trails and anonymous voting — free.

Read more
Voting Methods

What Is Instant Runoff Voting (IRV)?

How ranked choice voting works, step by step — with pros, cons, and examples.

Read more
Guide

10 Best Practices for Running Online Elections

Proven practices for turnout, ballot design, security, and transparent results.

Read more